Hemingway

July Hemingway

It was her cherry blossom tattoo that first drew me to July Suicide, but the tattoo that graces her collarbone proved to be even more fascinating. What could that mean? I wish I could say that I recalled its origin, but my memory is not that good. I had to hunt for it, and there it was, the last line of Ernest Hemingway’s The Sun Also Rises (1926) in which Brett and Jake are soon to part, forever, and Brett says, “Oh, Jake, we could have had such a damned good time together,” and Jake replies, “Yes, isn’t it pretty to think so?”

Leave a Reply

