Bessie Love and James Abbe

I thought this was already here, but now it is for sure.

Faithful Readers

In June of 1998, I was spending a day at Pike Place Market in Seattle, a busy hive of shops where one can find anything from fresh fish to antique postcards. I was in a quiet corner of a shop specializing in the latter, when I was stopped, frozen, by an image that still fascinates me to this day. I of course bought the postcard, and began a hunt for more information on the subject and the photographer.

The subject was Bessie Love, who in 1915 started out in silent pictures directed by D.W. Griffith and worked for decades, including many character roles in sound pictures when she was older. The more I learned about her, the more I liked her.

In 1924, a Photoplay reporter who had drawn the short straw accompanied a film company to the Texas plains in winter, and wrote this about a night spent in…

View original post 609 more words

Leave a Reply

